Petals from Heaven

I never intended anyone to read that letter (see previous “Dear Baby” post). I wrote it only the morning after I had miscarried.  It took me over 3 hours to write and an entire tissue box to get through it.  But when I was done, I felt a peace that can only come when we open ourselves up completely to Him.

I was perfectly content – to end my story here.  Afterall, in the 18 hours since I had miscarried, God had already done so much. The letter was meant just for me, as a way to say good-bye and begin the healing process…so I thought.

As I stood up from the computer, Ryan entered the room.  “What have you been doing all this time?”

“I wrote the baby a letter”

“Can I read it?”

I hesitated, then figured – why not? Afterall, he did experience this alongside me. As my toughest critic, I was also sure he would hold me accountable for every word.  (For those of you who have kids, you know how quick they can be to point out little inaccuracies or holes in any story.)  So I bravely said, “Sure”, and then added, “…but it’s rather long, it’s okay if you don’t finish it.”

After taking a shower, which felt more like a warm hug with the hope of a fresh start, I returned downstairs.  To my surprise, Ryan was still at the computer.  With eyes filled with tears that had not yet reached his cheeks he looked up at me and said,  “It’s really good, Mom.”

“Did you read the whole thing?”

“twice.”

Before the weekend was over, I felt a tug on my heart to send the letter to the ladies in my Bible Study. I knew they would be as amazed and blessed as Ryan and I were. After once again being  well received, I decided to send it to the members of my immediate family and closest girlfriends.

Initially, I questioned God’s timing.  He waited for me to attach myself to this little life.  Until I had let everyone know.  Only to have to go back and humbly tell them all, our baby won’t be coming.

As difficult as this was, a chain reaction of grace, love, and purpose began to take its place on the path God had already lay ahead.

There is so much that has happened and continues to happen, it would be impossible to fit it into a single post. So, here are the blessings from week 1

One friend shared that when she lost her baby, she planted a rose-bush in her garden to always remember him by.  All I said was, “what a great idea”…5hours later there was a white rose-bush on my door step. Which, incidentally, is now in or back yard with our tiny baby buried beneath it.

At first, I wished I had never gone “viral” and made our pregnancy announcement on Facebook.  Now having to post that “our family learned this weekend how fragile life is” wasn’t easy and, thankfully, didn’t warrant a single “Like”.  But when the comments and messages of prayer, love and support began pouring in on an hourly basis my heart-felt as if it would burst. I had no idea so many people had that much compassion for me and were so pained by my suffering.

Galatians 6:2  tells us to Bear each others Burdens.  This is exactly what happened…it was as if God gave a little bit of my pain to each person who had invested themselves into my story, and after a while, there was hardly any pain left for me to bear.

Cards, Letters and emails thanking me for sharing something so personal and in turn many shared personal details of their own past losses. Some were friends, but there were others I had never shared a bond with, until now. Woman of varying ages, from different circles of my life identified with the loss of a child.  Whether their baby died through a miscarriage or an abortion, the proof of life through my baby’s photo was undisputable. I was taken back by comments like: “If I had seen that photo as a teen, my baby would be 30 years old now.” Another woman, weeping, told me that for 15 years she had been pushing away the pain of her miscarriage.  After reading the letter and seeing exactly what her 13 week old fetus must have also looked like, she now knows she has 3 children, not just her current two.

Three days after my miscarriage, a delivery service brought me a dozen Tulips.  The card simply read:   You are perfectly and wonderfully made, a prized possession to your Heavenly Father. May the peace of God that surpasses all earthly understanding guard your heart and your mind in Christ Jesus.  You are deeply loved.       Your Heavenly Father.

To this day, I have no idea which “Earthly Angel” God used to send me those flowers…and I’m glad.  He placed the idea in someone’s heart. For me, knowing the “middle-man” is less important. Those flowers are from God, delivered straight to my doorstep!

After reading “Dear Baby” a friend told me, “I can’t believe your strength – I would have just crawled in a hole and shut down for a few weeks.” (and she’s a pastor’s wife).  ;)Honestly, I would have thought that would have been my reaction too.  But when I woke up the morning after I miscarried – staying under the covers was not an option. I could feel the weight of the Holy Spirit on my heart, telling me – Go Write!  It was as if I would never breath properly again until I obeyed.

…and I’m so glad I did.

Gallery | This entry was posted in loss and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Petals from Heaven

  1. Lynda says:

    Well Kim, you have already sold one copy of your book that you have yet to write. 🙂 I suppose some writers don’t realize how gifted they are until God has given them a reason to write. Again, thank you for choosing to listen to Him, for through your obedience we are all being blessed!

  2. Dawn Larson says:

    You are such an inspiration to me and countless others. I am truly blessed to call you friend! The blog is awesome and I look forward to read where God leads you 🙂

  3. Audrey Smoker says:

    Kim I love your heart and I love the fact that right here before the worlds eyes you have shown us what it looks like to obey God. It is truly amazing. I too have chosen to listen and obey God and for that very reason He has blessed us with our two beautiful gifts from Russia! It is so hard to take that leap of faith but when we do the rewards are beyond measure.

    I miscarried four times between the birth of my two children (now ages 25 & 19), it was the hardest thing that I had ever endured at that time. Time does heal although we never forget.
    I thank you friend for trusting, sharing and choosing to blog so that many of us can quite possibly begin to heal also.

  4. wynottme? says:

    Audrey, you have always been an inspiration to me. Your “2 gifts from Russia” are so blessed to have you and your husband to call Mommy and Daddy! God clearly knew what he was doing when He placed them in your care. Nobody better.

    Four children here on earth and four more waiting for you in eternity! Note to self: when I get to heaven – Party at the Smoker Family’s Mansion!

  5. JoAnne Tuell says:

    I just read this post and the letter to your baby. First of all, you were so brave to post the picture of your beautiful little baby. I think it is a reminder that no matter how small he was (I think it was a boy, too) , that he was a beautiful baby taken too soon. You are a wonderful, thoughtful writer.

    • wynottme? says:

      Thank you JoAnne for seeing the beauty in my little one. I was nervous that his picture would be misinterpreted by some. But after hearing how the photo and the story have made such an impact on those who are healing from a loss of their own, I knew it wasn’t right to keep it to myself. Despite the fact that he will never walk this earth, he’s managing to make a difference in it anyway. So please don’t feel sad for me – I’m just a proud mom.

  6. Sheila King says:

    Kim,

    Again, I ‘m so proud of you and that you listen and obeyed the voice of the Holy Spirit.
    none of us are an island by ourselves. we need each other and from God putting his “super” on your “natural” you are touching lives in a supernatural way.I thank you for that and for your open and precious heart. you actually inspired me to continue to write the book God birth in me 4 years ago. not to mention writing the last 11 days of my Mom’s life on planet earth before she graduated to Heaven.
    God’s hand is on you and your family and I know everytime you share about your precious baby a new layer of healing takes place.

  7. wynottme? says:

    Sheila,
    I read this beautiful comment from you this morning and haven’t been able to stop thinking about your definition of SUPERNATURAL. Every time I sit down to write, there is this little voice that continues to say, ” just be honest”. I realize, now, that it really is that simple…I am incapable of producing anything profound or of great impact. I just need to obey and write what comes naturally, He does the rest.
    I’m glad your writing too. May it be as healing for you as it has been for me.

Leave a Reply

