A Name with Purpose

It is hard to believe that this week marks one year.anniversary_1
In the same breath, it is also hard to believe that so much has happened in just one year:
How is it possible that what started out as a simple letter to my miscarried child, has turned into a full blown ministry?
Sharing the letter and my baby’s photo led to hundreds of unassuming hearts being touched.  Which then gave power to starting a blog and serving at a Pregnancy Center. From there, I was asked to speak at Women’s Retreats and eventually even interviewed on a KKLA Radio Program.
Now, on the 28th of this very month, I will be the leader of a Miscarriage Support Class entitled: In His Arms. It is being hosted by Shepherd of the Hills Church, in Porter Ranch Ca. and will meet weekly for 6 weeks.

Announcement in Shepherd's church bulletin

Announcement in Shepherd’s church bulletin

Not only has the church blocked out time and space for this 6 week course, but they have also blocked out on their calendar future courses throughout the year.
As there has never been such  a class on this subject, the need for it is merely assumed. Honestly, I don’t even know if anyone will sign up.  But then I humbly recall, at last count, there has been 4,971 views on a blog I’ve only told some friends about. This, in itself, is proof to how much bigger God’s plans are compared to mine.
Earlier this week I sat down to work on the curriculum for this quickly approaching class.  I opened my bible to a great verse.

Jeremiah 1:5                                                                                                                              Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart. I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.
I’ve always felt that if God knew Jeremiah before forming him in his mother’s womb; Isn’t it safe to say he knew each of us and our purpose the moment we were created?
As I pondered this, I felt a nudge to read on. Here is Jeremiah’s response to the Lord’s appointment of him…
Jeremiah 1:6
Ah Sovereign Lord, I do not know how to speak; I am only a child.”
Wow, seriously?! It was as if my very own thoughts and anxieties had been recorded in this most ancient of books. I totally get you, Jeremiah.
I couldn’t wait to hear what the Lord had to say to me him…

Jeremiah 1:7,8
But the Lord said to me, “Do not say, ‘I am only a child’. You must go to everyone I send you to and say whatever I command you. Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you,” declares the Lord.

Hmmm, I never asked to be heard by anyone but Him. But much like Jeremiah, God sent over the people he wanted to hear- that has never been my task.
Okay, I’m feeling a little better. God is in charge of sign-ups and if Jeremiah shouldn’t fear the nations of people, I should not be fearful of a possible room full of them.

There is just one other thing; every mom in that room will have had their own unique experience at different stages in their pregnancies. How do I speak the words, that individually, these moms need to hear?
Well, when all else fails, keep reading…bible
Jeremiah 1:9,10
Then the Lord reached out his hand and touched my mouth and said to me, “Now I have put my words in your mouth. See, today I appoint you over nations and Kingdoms to uproot and tear down, to destroy and overthrow, to build and to plant.”
I know these words were said to Jeremiah, but isn’t it possible that God intends them for all who are willing to lead in His name? I think so.
And speaking of names… after a year of being asked, “did you name your baby?” I finally have the perfect name …Jeremiah, meaning God will uplift.

Jeremiah to me is a reminder that God doesn’t create a life without a purpose. And he will only give you a purpose that he plans to equip you for.
May I continue to fulfill God’s purpose for me and my little Jeremiah.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Name with Purpose

  1. Arlene says:

    Beautiful! I love his name!!!

  2. Love you Kim! It’s amazing and inspiring how God is using you. Keep up the great work. So proud of you for talking so openly about a delicate topic. Xo

  3. Keep up the awesome work! Xo

  4. Rashayna says:

    Love! Thank you for sharing!

  5. Lisa mueller says:

    Kim you are so very inspirational , your insight is a gift to us all . I look forward to your journey and can’t wait to see where God leads you.

  6. Diane Madjid says:

    I’m standing with you, sister! Remember to breath when your speaking! I’m so blessed to have been able to watch you grow to this. Love you!

  7. Susan Enman says:

    So great! I love you

Leave a Reply

