No Wall Too Great

As a member of Shepherd Church in Porter Ranch, California and a Blogger who writes about overcoming trials, I was recently given an honorable assignment… to write a book review on Pastor Dudley Rutherford’s new book Walls Fall Down.book wfd  The book will be used in his upcoming Sermon Series, as well as a Bible Study aid for our quickly growing Life Groups. Walls Fall Down is based on The Battle of Jericho and takes you through 7 steps to overcoming any challenge that life throws at you. Just as Joshua and the Israelites marched around the walls of Jericho for 7 days, with their eyes fixated on God, Walls Fall Down will allow you to march around your problem with the same focal point. Despite the fact that Joshua’s struggle is thousands of years before your struggle, the outcome will be the same – Victorious!  For the God who crumbled the colossal wall that Joshua lead the Israelites around, is the very same God who is ready to break down the colossal wall that stands in front of You.

The Israelites used their spiritual eyes to grasp God’s greatness and trust that He had already given them victory as He had promised.  Likewise, when you and I are in the midst of a trial or storm, we have a choice about what we focus on. We tend to stare at the problem, but the longer we stare at the problem, the larger the problem becomes, causing us to feel hopeless and depressed.  (page 10 Walls Fall Down)

If you have read any of my blog posts before now, you already know that I have been experiencing some unexpected trials in my life. Losing my baby https://wynottme.wordpress.com/2012/04/17/dear-baby/ and my marriage https://wynottme.wordpress.com/2014/09/07/same-hope-new-trial/ within one calendar year of each other was devastating for me.  Yet, somehow I made it through and can honestly say I am a better Kim on the other side of those hardships. I couldn’t have truly overcome these tragedies without fixing my eyes on The Lord. But just as important, were the people God put on my path to remind me of His promises when I had lost all hope. Chances are, if you are reading this, you are quite possibly one of those people. 🙂 God also put people on Joshua’s path to victory. In Walls Fall Down there is this great conversation that takes place between Joshua and Caleb. While quoting scripture, Pastor Dudley fills us in on how this “Pep Talk” may have gone down.  Here, Caleb senses that Joshua’s confidence had been shaken by years of heartache and hardship…

“Joshua,” Caleb began slowly, “before Moses died he blessed you in the presence of all of Israel. He told you to be strong and courageous because you must go with this people into the promised land and divide it among them as their inheritance. Remember what Moses said, “The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you or forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.”  (page 4)

This promise is not just given to men of the Old Testament.  If the Lord goes before his child Joshua, The Lord goes before each of his children. Are you one of His children? If so, your conquest has already been conquered, Victory is guaranteed! I love Dudley’s implication of what Caleb went on to say to Joshua…

“Yet it’s not about the people or the problem,” Caleb said. “It’s not about Moses, and it’s not about you.  Everyone and everything is diminished in light of God’s surpassing greatness. I just wanted to remind you of that, my friend.”  (page 4)

How soon we forget that its not about us. There is a much bigger picture and a much greater power. Right now you may be climbing up a mountain that appears to have no peak. Let me leave you with these words of advice from what is quickly becoming my new favorite book…

At any moment during your trial or struggle, you can choose to shift your focus from the mountain to the Maker of the mountain. Today, I encourage you to put your faith in a God who does not rest, who desires to help you, and is bigger than any obstacle you are facing. (page 11)

Pastor Dudley: Author and true Inspiration!

Pastor Dudley: Author and true Inspiration!

visit http://www.wallsfalldownbook.com for more on this highly recommended book.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to No Wall Too Great

  1. Dina Birgel says:

    Hello My friend,
    Looking forward to Pastor Dudley’s new series! Loved reading your post:) Very encouraging and a good reminder to put my faith in him in my struggles and trials. Xoxo

    • wynottme? says:

      I’m so glad you felt encouraged by this, Dina! I’m excited for this new series too. Looking forward to seeing your hubby on the DVD as one of Dudley’s Biker Bros. 🙂

  2. Veronica J. says:

    K~…this couldn’t have been more timely for me to read as I struggle with the challenges I face, and the mountains – that I create, of course – during this season of my journey. I have to keep reminding myself that the victories are indeed glorious because my God is always with me wherever I go. A good word and great encouragement! 💜

  3. Ericka says:

    Kim you’re like a knight of hope. Love your motivating post!

  4. Christa says:

    Thank you, Kim, for your always inspirational words of hope and courage. Let us not pray for the hard thing to go away; let us pray for a bravery to come that is bigger than the hard thing.

Leave a Reply

